Pianot ja flyygelit Showrooms
Yhteydenotto Kysymyksiä

Vikingur Ólafsson

Live From Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
Premiere: Monday, June 24
11:00 AM PT | 2:00 PM ET | 20:00 CET

STEINWAY SPIRIOCAST

Vikingur Ólafsson

Live From Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

Premiere: Monday, June 24
11:00 AM PT | 2:00 PM ET | 20:00 CET

Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson performs J.S. Bach's Goldberg Variations, live from Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

Program approximately 75 minutes.

Pianist Víkingur Ólafsson has made a profound impact with his remarkable combination of highest level musicianship and visionary programmes. His recordings for Deutsche Grammophon — Philip Glass Piano Works (2017), Johann Sebastian Bach (2018), Debussy Rameau (2020) and Mozart & Contemporaries (2021) — captured the public and critical imagination and led to album streams of over 260 million. The Daily Telegraph called him “The new superstar of classical piano” while the New York Times dubbed him “Iceland’s Glenn Gould.”

Now one of the most sought-after artists of today, Ólafsson’s multiple awards include Gramophone magazine’s 2019 Artist of the Year, Opus Klassik Solo Recording Instrumental (twice) and Album of the Year at the 2019 BBC Music Magazine Awards.

Ólafsson continues to perform with the world’s leading orchestras and as artist in residence at the top concert halls and festivals. He also works with some of today’s greatest composers.

A captivating communicator both on and off stage, Ólafsson’s significant talent extends to broadcast, having presented several of his own series for television and radio. He was artist in residence for three months on BBC Radio 4’s flagship arts programme, Front Row. Broadcasting live during lockdown from an empty Harpa concert hall in Reykjavík, he reached millions of listeners around the world.

Víkingur Ólafsson appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon GmbH. His recordings are available on STAGE+, the streaming service for classical music by Deutsche Grammophon.

stage+
 

How to join

BEST PRACTICES

  • We strongly recommend connecting Spirio to a television via the HDMI port. This provides the best connection and viewing experience.
  • Ensure your Spirio piano regularly receives all technical service and maintenance from a Steinway–trained Spirio technician.
  • Ensure the Wi-Fi signal strength at the piano is strong and reliable.
  • 50 Mbps is the minimum required network upload and download speed to ensure a flawless Spiriocast experience. Visit speedtest.net to check your internet connection speed.
  • Ensure the iPad, Spirio App and piano software are updated frequently.
  • Confirm network connections (Wi-Fi/Ethernet, Bluetooth) and performance (Spiriocast System Check) are ready prior to a live Spiriocast event.

Still having trouble connecting to Spiriocast?

Download our detailed help guide.

Spiriocast Help Guide

Experience Steinway

There is a STEINWAY showroom near you.

Find a showroom